Top Ten Tuesday – Books if you like British period dramas

This weekly feature is hosted by The Broke and Bookish :)

I had quite a bit of trouble trying to think of what to do for this weeks Top Ten Tuesday list. This weeks theme was “ten books is you like X” X being a show/movie/other form of media. I really had NO idea what to do for this one, so I was waiting to see what other people were coming up with, but as I’m in Australia, it was pretty late in the day before I could see any lists!

So what I decided on in the end was:

Top Ten Books to Read if you like British Period Dramas.

If you like Jane Austen Series’



1. Austenland by Shannon Hale

This book was brilliant! I loved every minute that I spent reading it. This one is great because obviously it’s about Jane Austen, but the main character is also completely obsessed with the BBC Pride and Prejudice. There’s some Austen referencing going on throughout the book, with characters mirroring certain Austen characters. It’s great – I couldn’t recommend this book highly enough!

 

2. Mr. Darcy’s Diary by Amanda Grange

Another Austen inspired novel. This is the only parallel of one of the original novels that I’ve actually enjoyed (and I’ve attempted a lot!) Told from Mr. Darcy’s perspective, this book was really lovely to read. I also adore books set in diary form, so this was a win for me!

3. Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding

Of course, Bridget Jones’s Diary should be added to this list. A great contemporary version of Pride and Prejudice. I finally got around to reading
this last year and I’m so glad I did :)

If you like Downton Abbey:

Yay! Downton Abbey!

4. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows
This book is glorious. Set just after the end of World War II and told in the format of letters (which is just as exciting as a diary!) this is one of my all-time favourite books. While it’s not all light-hearted and cheery – just like Downton Abbey – this book makes you happy, thoughtful, sad and then happy again. I love it!


5. The Second-Last Woman in England by Maggie Joel 
Also set just around the time that England is recovering from WWII, this book tells the fictionalised story of the second-last woman to be sentenced to death. The blurb of this book tells the details of who is going to be murdered and how, so it was interesting to watch things unfold and see what drove the main character to commit the murder. This book was written amazingly well, I really enjoyed it!


6. Tyringham Park by Rosemary McLoughlin

I was actually drawn to this book by the cover, which was vaguely Downton Abbey-esque and a quote on it comparing it to Downton Abbey and boy did they get me! I liked this book and have put it on this list because it does have quite a similar setting to the TV series. The story and the characters however, are not similar at ALL. So if you’re looking for a great British, early 20th Century, manor house setting, this book is great for that! I really enjoyed this book until the last 30 or so pages. But that’s just me, I’m sure other people would be happier with the ending than I was. I do still recommend it though :)


7. The Campion Family Series by Annie Groves
I haven’t finished this series yet, but I’ve read three out of five books and I LOVE IT SO MUCH. The novels follow all different characters from the Campion family as they navigate their way through WWII. Annie Groves is just brilliant and I have so many of her books in my TBR pile :)








8. Camomile Lawn by Mary Wesley

I haven’t actually read this, but I really want to! It looks great, right up my alley. This was recommended to me by my boss after a discussion about the Annie Groves books! I’m pretty sure I’d love it :)

If you like The House of Eliot

9. Magic Flutes by Eva Ibbotson

Eva Ibbotson is one of my favourite childhood authors. I listened to this book on audio only last year, as I somehow missed this book when I was growing up. It was absolutely lovely :) Set in between the wars, this is the story of an Austrian princess trying to seek a normal life in a Europe that no longer favours royalty as it used to.

If you like North and South or A Room With a View






10. Mad Morelands series by Candace Camp
 
I discovered this series when I was travelling in Canada and spent a cold, rainy day in Vancouver library. I was HOOKED. Candace knows how to write eloquent, beautiful, appropriate-for-the-period-they’re-set-in stories but also with a nice romantic scene here and there, to keep us contemporary readers happy! Every one of these books also involves an exciting mystery that the main character must uncover! I love Candace so much!

Share:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: